总裁寄语 | 玛氏公司
总裁寄语

总裁寄语

在执掌玛氏公司近三年的时间里,每天我都因同事们的辛勤付出而深受鼓舞。我们致力于营造卓越的职场环境、改善健康与福祉、开展负责任营销、促进食品安全、提升运营业务和供应链管理的可持续性、强化我们的人权战略……这些努力最终汇集成您现在看到的这份概述。

玛氏公司始终秉持这样一个信念:无论是处于供应链前端的农户,还是我们的供应商,亦或是我们的同事、客户和消费者,甚至是这颗广袤的蔚蓝色星球……只有所有伙伴都欣欣向荣,玛氏才能蓬勃兴盛,经久不衰。玛氏公司的目标是为所有利益相关方创造“互惠利益”,这一目标经过几代玛氏人的接力之后,今天由我有幸领导下的85,000名同事发扬光大。回顾玛氏2016年的种种成就,乃至回望过去三年的发展历程,我想以反思、决心、变革和卓越这四个词来对这一时期的玛氏做个总结。

我们经过反思,进一步明确了希望传承给下一代的企业信念,即:玛氏仍将坚持家族企业体制,秉持“质量、责任、互惠、效率和自主”这“五大原则”,并且承诺在实现可持续运营的同时,也为自身以及所有利益相关方创造长远可持续的互惠利益。

坚定不移的决心让我们得以应对多变的运营环境,围绕明确的目标调整战略。我们审视自身的规章制度和业务产品组合,矢志不渝地践行我们在气候变化、人权、健康与福祉方面所作的承诺。我们之所以选择在这些领域精耕细作,就是为了让玛氏能够实现令我们自豪的成长。

在面对如肥胖、气候变化、资源短缺等全球性挑战时,我很自豪地看到同事们勇于对自己提出更高要求,展现出高昂的斗志与激情。玛氏不仅是一家企业,更是世界公民中的一员,我们有责任和义务积极推动具有战略意义的变革,这也有利于我们的业务发展。

我们还在“五大原则”和科学依据的指导下,探索如何在业绩蒸蒸日上的同时,最大程度降低对环境的影响,提升公司在运营场所和供应链所在社区的影响力,这都是玛氏战略中不可或缺的部分。我们希望与消费者、零售商以及玛氏同事建立紧密的联系,为玛氏创造更多价值,实现真正长远的卓越表现。

在玛氏成立之初,我们就明确提出要专注于我们的优势和特色。基于这个想法,我们参考了一系列外部衡量体系,譬如探讨自然环境与社会环境关系的地球和社会边界模型、联合国2015-2030可持续发展目标等,同时严谨地评估了我们自身的价值链,最终确定了玛氏的五大环境与社会影响关注重点:温室气体排放、土地资源利用、水资源利用、人权和收入保障。

人类与宠物的健康与福祉对玛氏来说非常重要。无论是糖果类产品、主食类产品,还是宠物护理用品,都旨在培养消费者均衡健康的生活方式。所以我们大力推进“负责任消费”理念,积极响应限制添加糖含量的倡议,采用小份包装产品,升级配方以降低饱和脂肪含量与钠含量;对于爱宠,我们不断扩大宠物健康服务的业务范围,全方位地为爱宠提供优质的营养与护理。

玛氏相信各方协作会产生最好的效果,这也是玛氏公司实现可持续发展的核心动力。所以我们在2016年同世界资源研究所(World Resources Institute)的专家团队在气候、土地、水资源方面一起制定了科学的目标,并且坚定不移地支持《巴黎气候协议》;积极响应全球卫生权威机构对添加糖和食用盐摄入量的倡议;同时还参与多方合作,在一系列如贫穷、收入不公等社会议题上发挥我们的力量。我个人也代表玛氏加入了消费品论坛董事会和商业与可持续发展委员会,在相互学习中一起探索商业对于社会进步的意义。很高兴在今年的概述中也看到了我们富有成效的合作案例。

我们每一位玛氏同事都是玛氏愿景的守护者,并在传承中体会到许多乐趣。玛氏去年取得的成绩让我们倍感自豪,也值得我们举杯相庆,而这些荣耀也将鼓励我们继续奋力前行,无惧希望落空,勇敢面对未来的困难与挑战。一如玛氏的精神领袖Forrest E. Mars, Jr.先生那样——虽然很遗憾他已在去年离世,但他“进无止境”的精神仍然深深地鼓舞着我们——“ 相信自己!也许今日未能跨越的高山,明日终将为我们所征服。”

最后,我要由衷感谢所有玛氏同事与合作伙伴,是大家的支持成就了玛氏的今日。让我们携手共进,再攀高峰!

此致,

Grant F. Reid
首席执行官兼总裁

Grant F. Reid - Our Leadership - About Us | Mars, Incorporated
A LETTER FROM GRANT F. REID

Leadership Message

It’s been almost three years since I took the helm at Mars, and every day I continue to be inspired by the efforts of our Mars Associates. As you’ll see in this report, those efforts include creating a great workplace environment, improving health and wellbeing and responsible marketing, advancing food safety, increasing the sustainability of our operations and supply chains, and strengthening our human rights strategy.

Mars has long believed that our business will thrive and endure for generations to come, if those that we work with – from the farmers at the start of our supply chain, through to suppliers, Associates, customers, consumers and ultimately the planet – thrive as well. This desire to create exceptional business performance by creating a “mutuality of benefits” for Mars and our stakeholders dates back multiple generations, and is carried forward by the 85,000 Mars Associates who it is my honor to lead today. As I consider the last three years, and what we delivered in 2016, I’d say that this has been a time characterized by reflection, decisiveness, strategic change and performance.

The reflection yielded a validation of the company we want to leave for the next generation: family-owned, united by The Five Principles of Quality, Responsibility, Mutuality, Efficiency and Freedom, and committed to creating enduring, mutual benefits for us and our stakeholders while operating sustainably.

Our decisiveness enabled us to address the dynamics in which we are operating with intentional, strategic shifts. We looked at the way we organize ourselves; the shape of our portfolio; and our commitments around climate change, human rights and health and wellbeing. We are making strategic choices in these areas – all in the service of generating growth that we are proud of as a business.

I’m proud of the passion Mars Associates have demonstrated for continuously raising the bar to address the global threats we face – from obesity to climate change to resource scarcity. It’s our duty as a company and as global citizens to do our part to drive positive, strategic change. It’s also good business practice.

Guided by The Five Principles and informed by science, we’re looking for the most effective ways to minimize our impact on the environment, improve the social impacts we have in the communities where we operate and source our ingredients, and deliver excellent financial performance. This is integral to our business strategy to be relevant to our consumers, our retail customers and our Associates, and to create value for Mars.

We’ve been clear from the outset that we must focus on the areas where we have the biggest impacts and where we can make the most difference. With that in mind, we drew from a number of external models – such as the planetary and social boundaries models, and the UN Sustainable Development Goals – as well as some very rigorous assessments of our own value chain to identify our five biggest environmental and social impacts: greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, land use, water use, human rights and income.

Our health and wellbeing priorities are defined based on the type of product, whether confectionery, dinnertime staple or pet care. But they all have one common goal: that all our brands have a place in a well-balanced lifestyle. One of our clear aims is to drive responsible consumption, as demonstrated by our added sugars commitment, pack sizes that encourage moderate portions, and reformulation to reduce saturated fats and sodium. And for pets, we continue to deliver great nutrition, while expanding our whole range of pet health services.

At the core of our sustainability efforts is the belief that the best outcomes happen when we collaborate with others. That’s why we teamed up with experts at the World Resources Institute in 2016 to develop science-based targets for climate, land and water, and why we stand steadfast in our support of the Paris Climate Agreement. We’ve also aligned with global health authorities around their guidelines on added sugars and salt consumption. And we’re partnering with others on social issues such as poverty and income inequality. As part of my personal commitment, I’ve joined the Board of Directors of The Consumer Goods Forum and the Business and Sustainable Development Commission, so that we can learn from, and contribute to, these organizations in our shared quest to see business as a whole contribute to society. I’m pleased that this year’s summary showcases many examples of our productive partnerships.

As Mars Associates, we are all stewards of the legacy we want to create for future generations, and we take pleasure and have fun when we do it well. This past year we’ve achieved some great things that make us proud, and deserve to be celebrated. These wins also encourage us to carry on when we face particularly difficult challenges, or fall short of our own hopes and ambitions. Forrest E. Mars, Jr., an inspiration to all of us, who sadly passed away this past year, used to challenge us to be “healthily dissatisfied with ourselves.” But equally, “to know that perhaps tomorrow you can do a better job. That perhaps the mountain that you didn’t climb today, you can climb tomorrow.”

My thanks to all of the Associates and partner organizations that are helping Mars be the company we strive to be, and to climb the mountain!

Grant F. Reid
Chief Executive Officer & Office of the President