可持续发展 | 玛氏公司
可持续发展

可持续发展

建立可持续发展的企业

无论是在自身运营环节,还是各级供应链中,玛氏始终将可持续发展视为重中之重,以不断实现令我们自豪的成长。

从气候变暖到资源紧缺,全球性威胁影响着我们所有人。与您一样,我们希望尽己所能建立一个健康而又蓬勃向上的地球。但首先,我们必须构建一个可持续发展的企业。我们正在投资开发可再生能源,改善供应链状况,并着力宣传以引起人们对气候变化问题的重视。我们将努力确保我们所依赖的人(从小农到供应商)也都能通过我们的增长获益。因为每个人都值得拥有一个可持续发展的未来。

我们衡量自身影响并设定长期目标

我们将努力改善我们的企业对环境的影响,以及对社区的影响。

达到此目标的方法之一是实行可持续采购。即,我们会努力确保从那些悉心耕种土地并尊重所有相关人员权利的最佳供应商处购买最好的配料。从帮助农户脱离贫困到尊重自然资源,我们正在努力做一些实事。

早在2007年,玛氏公司就以科学为依据,制定了到2040年实现碳中和,也就是“一代人实现可持续发展”的目标。此后便努力实践并有所收获:

  • 2015年起,玛氏美国的全部运营场采用风电,全面实现“零碳”排放;
  • 截止2015年底,玛氏在全球的126个生产场所均实现了零废弃物填埋;
  • 2015年12月,玛氏出席巴黎气候变化大会,帮助推动《巴黎协定》的达成;
  • 2016年5月,玛氏英国的所有运营场所采用风电,全面实现“零碳”排放;

至此,玛氏公司已实现减少25%温室气体排放量的2007-2015年阶段性目标。2015年,玛氏还被气候组织(the Climate Group)评选为承诺全部使用可再生能源的最具影响力企业之一。

在中国,玛氏公司也一直将实现零废弃物填埋列为生产运营的重点。通过鼓励技术创新、优化生产流程,中国地区的七个生产场所已全部如期达成目标,其中箭牌上海工厂、广州工厂、永和工厂和皇家宠物食品上海工厂在2014年底就已提前实现零废弃物填埋。各类环保主张和活动也在玛氏的所有事业部积极开展,并得到各界认可与嘉奖。



玛氏中国包括箭牌上海工厂、广州工厂、永和工厂和皇家宠物食品上海工厂在内的七个生产场所已于2015年底全部如期实现零废弃物填埋。

Sustainability | Mars, Incorporated
Sustainability

SUSTAINABILITY

BUILDING A SUSTAINABLE BUSINESS

Whether in our own operations or deep within our supply chain, sustainability remains firmly front of mind as we continue to create growth we are proud of.

The global threats we face — from climate change to resource scarcity — affect us all. Like you, we want to help build a planet that is healthy and thriving. But first, we must build a sustainable business. We're investing in renewable energy, improving conditions in our supply chains and speaking out about climate change. And we're working to make sure that the people we rely on — from smallholder farmers to suppliers — benefit from the growth of our business. Because everyone deserves a sustainable future.

WE MEASURE OUR IMPACTS & SET LONG-TERM TARGETS

We are working to improve the environmental impacts of our business and our social impacts on the communities we’re a part of.

One of the ways we are achieving this is through sustainable sourcing. This means that we are making sure we get the best ingredients from the best suppliers—suppliers who take care of the land they farm, and who respect the rights of everyone involved. From helping to lift farmers out of poverty to respecting natural resources, we are trying to make a difference.

Moreover, back in 2007, Mars officially announced the commitment of Sustainable in a Generation (SiG). We started with the science. And that helped us come up with a target to become carbon neutral by 2040. Ever since then we have made significant achievements through our strenuous efforts:

  • From 2015, we started to power our entire US operations by wind energy to fulfill our goal of eliminating all greenhouse emissions ;
  • By the end of 2015, Mars has achieved Zero Waste to Landfill across 126 facilities globally;
  • In December 2015, Mars attended the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP21) in Paris to propel Paris Agreement;
  • In May 2016, we started to power our entire UK operations by wind energy to fulfill our goal of eliminating all greenhouse emissions ;
  • From 2007 till 2015, Mars has achieved the goal of reducing GHG emissions by 25 percent. In 2015, Mars was awarded one of the most influential businesses that pledged to become 100% powered by renewable energy.

In China, Mars has also prioritized sending Zero Waste to Landfill in production operations. By the end of 2014, seven plants have achieved their goals through technological innovation and production process optimization, including Wrigley Shanghai Plant, Wrigley Guangzhou Plant, Yonghe Plant and Royal Canin Pet Food Shanghai Plant. Besides, Mars is recognized by all parties for actively carrying out all kinds of environmental protection initiatives and activities in all divisions.

Find out more about our sustainable sourcing plan and our progress below.


In China, Mars has also prioritized sending Zero Waste to Landfill in production operations. Seven Chinese plants have achieved their goals including Wrigley Shanghai Plant, Wrigley Guangzhou Plant, Yonghe Plant and Royal Canin Pet Food Shanghai Plant.